Canadian Men's Amateur Championship Elmhurst Invitational Golf Canada Match Play Championship Nott Autocorp Men's Amateur Championship Players Cup Willingdon Cup

Austin Dobrescu finishes T31st in Canadian Men’s Amateur

Tsawwassen, BC – 03 August 2018 – Canadian Junior Girls Championship at Beach Grove Golf Club in Tsawwassen, BC. (Chuck Russell/Golf Canada)

Austin Dobrescu of Shilo Country Club continued his hot play this season with a T31 finish at the Golf Canada Canadian Men’s Amateur Championship that was played August 5-8 at the Glen Arbour Golf Course and The Links at Brunello in Hammonds Plains, Nova Scotia. Dobrescu, a member of Team Manitoba that finished 5th in the Willingdon Cup inter-provincial team championship, was the lone Manitoban to make the cut in this year’s event shooting rounds of 76-74-72-71 for a 293 total. Equally impressive in his feat, Dobrescu was in a tie for 11th for Canadians who made the cut in what has now become a top international event on the world amateur golf circuit.

See final leaderboard >>

Adding to his impressive finish at the Canadian Amateur, Dobrescu, who plays collegiate golf for the Chicago State NCAA Division I Cougars, started the season with a win at the Golf Manitoba Match Play Championship, finished T3rd in the Elmhurst Invitational and had a runner-up finish in the Nott Autocorp Men’s Amateur Championship.

Upon his return to Manitoba, Dobrescu will have little time to rest as he was recently awarded a sponsor’s exemption into the 2019 Players Cup, the local stop on the PGA Tour Canada Mackenzie Tour, that will take place August 12-18 at the Southwood Golf & Country Club.


Players Cup

2018 Players Cup Monday Qualifying Results

The 2018 Players Cup Monday Qualifying event was held on August 13 at The Pine Ridge Golf Club. Bret Thompson was the lone Manitoban claiming a spot in the Winnipeg stop on the Mackenzie Tour with a 1-under par round of 71. The top ten qualifying results are as follows:


Aaron Crawford, Calgary, AB, Canada – 70
Stephen Thomas, Vancouver, BC, Canada – 71
Bret Thompson, Winnipeg, MB, Canada – 71
Eric Hallberg, Scotsdale, AZ, USA – 72
Tucker Wadkins, Darien, CT – 72
Scott Secord, Calgary, AB, Canada – 72
Parker Dudley, Johns Island, SC, USA – 72
Patrick Williams, Toronto, ON, Canada – 72
John Mlikotic, Kelowna, BC, Canada – 73*
Kevin Gillick, Lincoln, NB, USA – 73*
*Won in playoff