PGA of Manitoba

Bri-ann Tokariwski named PGA of Canada Apprentice Professional of the Year

The PGA of Canada announced its 2021 National Award Winners during its virtual awards reception on Thursday, January 27, 2022.

Winnipeg’s Bri-ann Tokariwski, assistant professional at the Elmhurst Golf & Country Club and head coach of the Golf Manitoba Junior Girls Development Team, was named the Moe Norman Apprentice Professional of the Year. It is the first national award for Tokariwski who has also won the Apprentice of the Year zone award in Manitoba four consecutive years in a row from 2018 to 2021.

Also winning a national award was Alan Scott of the Lakeland Group of Companies. Scott, who is a past president of the PGA of Canada, received the Dick Munn Executive Professional of the Year Award.

Golf Manitoba Junior Boys Development Team head coach Derrik Goodwin was nominated for two national awards including the Jack McLaughlin Junior Leader of the Year and George Knudson Teacher of the Year Awards.

Five other Manitoba Zone professionals were also nominated for awards including Derek Ingram of Golf Canada, Jeremy Gallant of St. Charles Country Club, James Steep of Southwood Golf & Country Club, Kris Ehnes of Breezy Bend Country Club and James Chapman of Glendale Golf & Country Club.

The PGA of Canada also inducted 7 members into its Hall of Fame at the awards event including Manitoba’s Harry Brotchie.

Brotchie is a long-standing member of the PGA of Canada, current President of the NGCOA, Past PGA of Canada President (1993-1994), Past PGA of Manitoba Zone President (1985-1986), and earned the PGA of Canada Master Professional designation in 2003.  

More information about the 2021 PGA of Canada National Awards is available here.

Golf Manitoba Alumni Inside the Ropes PGA of Manitoba

WATCH | Meet the new Head Professional at Glendale Golf & Country Club, Derrik Goodwin

Golf Manitoba Director of Communications Brian Munz goes 1on1 with the new Head Professional at Glendale Golf & Country Club, Derrik Goodwin.

Golf Manitoba Alumni Media Release PGA of Manitoba

Golf Manitoba coaches nominated for PGA of Canada national awards

The PGA of Canada has announced the finalists for its 2021 National Awards.

“We are blessed to have a family of over 3,600 professionals who proudly share their passion and expertise with golfers from coast-to-coast,” said Teejay Alderdice, the association’s president. 

“On behalf of the PGA of Canada, I would like to congratulate all nominees and finalists for their outstanding accomplishments this year. I look forward to celebrating their collective achievements later this month during our virtual National Awards Ceremony.”

Golf Manitoba junior development team coaches Bri-ann Tokariwski and Derrik Goodwin have both been nominated for national awards. Tokariwski, who is an assistant professional out of the Elmhurst Golf & Country Club, has been nominated for the Moe Norman Apprentice of the Year award. Goodwin, the head professional at the Glendale Golf & Country Club, has been nominated for both the Jack McLaughlin Junior Leader of the Year and the George Knudson Teacher of the Year awards.

Five PGA of Canada Manitoba Zone members have also been nominated for awards and include the following:

Each year, a National Selection Committee evaluates nominations from professionals across Canada. Winners for each national award are traditionally recognized during PGA of Canada Night at the PGA Merchandise Show in Orlando, Fla., however, this year will see winners revealed live during the association’s virtual National Award Ceremony on January 27, 2022.