PGA of Manitoba

Bri-ann Tokariwski named PGA of Canada Apprentice Professional of the Year

The PGA of Canada announced its 2021 National Award Winners during its virtual awards reception on Thursday, January 27, 2022.

Winnipeg’s Bri-ann Tokariwski, assistant professional at the Elmhurst Golf & Country Club and head coach of the Golf Manitoba Junior Girls Development Team, was named the Moe Norman Apprentice Professional of the Year. It is the first national award for Tokariwski who has also won the Apprentice of the Year zone award in Manitoba four consecutive years in a row from 2018 to 2021.

Also winning a national award was Alan Scott of the Lakeland Group of Companies. Scott, who is a past president of the PGA of Canada, received the Dick Munn Executive Professional of the Year Award.

Golf Manitoba Junior Boys Development Team head coach Derrik Goodwin was nominated for two national awards including the Jack McLaughlin Junior Leader of the Year and George Knudson Teacher of the Year Awards.

Five other Manitoba Zone professionals were also nominated for awards including Derek Ingram of Golf Canada, Jeremy Gallant of St. Charles Country Club, James Steep of Southwood Golf & Country Club, Kris Ehnes of Breezy Bend Country Club and James Chapman of Glendale Golf & Country Club.

The PGA of Canada also inducted 7 members into its Hall of Fame at the awards event including Manitoba’s Harry Brotchie.

Brotchie is a long-standing member of the PGA of Canada, current President of the NGCOA, Past PGA of Canada President (1993-1994), Past PGA of Manitoba Zone President (1985-1986), and earned the PGA of Canada Master Professional designation in 2003.  

More information about the 2021 PGA of Canada National Awards is available here.