Annual Meeting Board

2019 Golf Manitoba Board of Directors Announced at Annual General Meeting

Golf Manitoba is pleased to introduce the 2019 Board of Directors. Five members of the eleven member board were recently re-elected at the Golf Manitoba Annual General Meeting held on October 22, 2018 at Elmhurst Golf & Country Club. The Board includes the following individuals (in alphabetical order):

Tammy Gibson (Director – Past President) has been a Board Member since 2010 and is currently Past President. She has been active in Manitoba’s golfing community for over 25 years as a competitive golfer and over 10 years as volunteer with Golf Manitoba. She has been Chair of the Tournament Committee and Volunteer Committee, is a Level 3 Rules Official and has been in executive roles on the Board since 2014.

In her role as President, Tammy presided over the plans and activities for Golf Manitoba’s 100th Anniversary in 2015. Tammy brings to the Board her 30 years of experience with the Manitoba Government in areas of policy development, training, strategic planning and performance management. She retired from government in 2013, currently owns her own business and stays active in competitive golf.

Vince Mariani (President) has been a Golf Manitoba board member since 2011 and has served as Treasurer and Vice-President.  Vince has been a proud member of Elmhurst Golf and Country Club since 1992 and served on the board of directors for several years and as president in 2009 and 2010.  A CPA, CMA, Vince is currently the Secretary-Treasurer and Chief Financial Officer of the River East Transcona School Division.

Craig Martin (Director) is an Assistant Professor of Business and Organizational Administration in the Redekop School of Business at Canadian Mennonite University.  He has a PhD in Agricultural Economics and Business from the University of Guelph and is a CPA, CMA.  He joined the Board of Assiniboine Golf Club in July of 2016.  He became President of the Assiniboine Golf Club in 2017.  He joined the Board of Golf Manitoba in 2017.

Wayne McWhirter (Director – Treasurer) has been a Golf Manitoba Board Member since 2015 and is currently the Treasurer and Vice President. He also is the Chair of the Course Rating Committee. Wayne is a member of Southwood Golf and Country Club, and was President of the Club in 2013-2014. As part of his Community involvement, he was Chair of the Manitoba Chambers of Commerce and a Board member of Winnipeg and Canadian Chambers of Commerce. He retired in 2016 as a partner in MNP LLP , a national accounting firm.  He was a recipient of the Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2012.

F. (Bob) Peters (Director) has served as a Golf Manitoba Director since 2017 and was appointed Chair of the Sponsorship Committee this year. Bob is a Partner with the law firm Fillmore Riley LLP. and practices primarily in the area of Regulatory Law and Administrative Law representing clients in the relationship between government and its citizens. Bob has, throughout his advocacy practice, appeared before the Supreme Court of Canada, the Manitoba Court of Appeal, the Federal Court of Appeal, the Court of Queen’s Bench, the Public Utilities Board, Canadian Radio-television Telecommunications Commission, and numerous other Administrative Tribunals. Bob is involved with golf through St. Charles Country Club where he was a member of the committee that brought Brooke Henderson to Winnipeg in July 2018 in support of junior golf in Manitoba.

Ken Warwick (Vice President) has served as a Golf Manitoba Board member since 2014. Currently the Tournament Committee Chairman. Has represented Manitoba Golf on many occasions at the National level. Member of Niakwa Country Club since 1986 and has been on the Social and Competition Committee for 10 years. Greens Committee for many years before that. Current Captain of the Senior Putter Golf Team and Past Captain of the Mundie Putter Team. A Licensed Realtor since 1988 and has been with Century 21 Bachman & Associates since 1993.

Michael Berney (Director) has served as a member of the Golf Manitoba Board since 2016 and has been active in the Manitoba golf community since the early 80s. Mike has competed in numerous Golf Manitoba and Golf Canada sanctioned events both regionally and nationally.

Mike has been a member of Transcona Golf Club for over 35 years and has served on their Board of Directors both in the 90s and most recently from 2011 until 2017 in the role of Golf Director. He has extensive experience organizing successful tournaments.

Mike is a life long Manitoban residing in Winnipeg retired from the railroad in 2010 after 37 years of service.

Susan Wright Cassan (Director) has been an active Board member since 2016. She is also on the Tournament Committee and Chair of the Membership Committee. Sue earned her Community Coaching Certificate in the spring of 2018 and has been organizing Golf in School programs in Thunder Bay for the last 4 years. Sue also organizes and runs a mixed fun event with all raised funds supporting the Golf in Schools program.

Some additional golf, volunteer and career highlights include the following:

James (Jim) Gosman (Director) has served as a Golf Manitoba board director since 2014 and the Rules Chairman for 1 year. He started with GM as a rules official in 2012 and has since obtained a level 4 ranking, officiating, 6-8 golf tournaments each year.  Jim was a teacher for 32 years and has been associated with sport as a player, coach, and referee for over 60 years.  He has coached basketball at the Junior High, High School, and the Provincial Levels and was the coach of a silver medal team at the Canada Games. Jim spent 30 years as a NCCP Theory of Coaching facilitator at all levels receiving the 2014 Community NCCP Coach Development Award from Sport Canada. In addition to officiating golf, he has refereed basketball and volleyball for many years. James has been part of the mission staff for Sport Manitoba at the Manitoba Games, the Western Canada Games, and the Canada Games.  He is a long-time member of the Southwood Golf and Country Club and since retirement has maintained a membership in the EDG (every day golfers) group.

Barry Hooke (Director) has served on the Golf Manitoba Board for 9 years. He has held the position of Committee Chair on Membership, Volunteer and Player Development. Presently, Barry is a member of the Tournament Committee and has also been a Rules Official for the past 8 years. Barry resides in Portage la Prairie and throughout his travels in rural Manitoba, be it as an avid golfer or a Golf Manitoba Director, a consistent message he has heard is how important it is to have a rural representation on this Board. Barry looks forward to serving his final year promoting the benefits of Golf Manitoba to all Golfers in Manitoba.

Kathy Turner (Director) – retired Assistant Commissioner Canada Revenue Agency. Kathy’s working background is in accounting, finance, information technology and tax policy and she has significant senior management experience. She has board and volunteer experience in golf at the club level and with the former CLGA.  Kathy also has board experience with charitable organizations such as the United Way and Citizen’s Advocacy of Ottawa (an organization that works with adults with disabilities).  Kathy was a founding director of Camelot Golf and Country Club.

Golf Manitoba is the governing body for golf in the province of Manitoba and North West Ontario. Its mission is to develop, promote, govern and service the game of golf in Manitoba and North West Ontario for the benefit of all participants.  To learn more about Golf Manitoba or programs and services available to amateur golfers, visit Golf Manitoba at

Jared Ladobruk
Executive Director
Golf Manitoba Inc.
Office: (204) 925-5729
Cell: (204) 291-8032